Instrucţiuni pentru vizitarea unui muzeu

How to Visit a Museum By Steve Moyer

On a school trip to Rome and Florence in the spring of 1972, I, along with a few hundred other high school students of Latin III and IV from south-central Pennsylvania, trudged through the Vatican, the Forum, the Uffizi, and one or two galleries that now escape my memory. Much of it passed before me in a blur, but I do remember the tip of my teacher’s shoe as it pointed to a place on a stone floor in the Forum. She was drawing our attention to a coin that in ancient times had melted on that very spot and become embedded in the rock. I dabbled in coin-collecting, and that perhaps explains why I remember the scene. I felt a bond to an artifact, and was fascinated by its transformation into a formless jewel-like verdigris. None of the great art I saw later that day in the Vatican stands out so much in my memory.

 In visiting museums over 40 plus years, I’ve learned to cultivate that love of the specific, unforgettable object that leaps out at you. I’ve applied this lesson, among others, to my visits to art institutes, historic houses, and sundry other collections here and abroad. What follows is a checklist of what I know about how to visit a museum, along with some opinions I solicited from curators, artists, museum staff, and aficionados.

  1. Let the museum-going experience be consumed in manageable bites. Especially when traveling to another city or country, select just a few institutions among the many calling out to you. There’s time on return visits to go back to the Met, the Louvre, or the Tate, or to catch the local trains and buses leading eventually to, say, Mont St.-Michel or some other end-of-the-earth destination.

Despre Claudiu Degeratu
Expert in securitate nationala, internationala, NATO, UE, aparare si studii strategice

Lasă un răspuns

